The Society of Actuaries of Namibia (SAN) was born out of a few exploratory launches, planning session and finally, when critical mass had been reached in terms of interest and support for a local actuarial profession, started in October 2010.  SAN was started with three specific objectives in mind:


  • To raise awareness of, encourage and support the growth of the actuarial profession in Namibia;
  • To protect the public interest by promoting and upholding the highest standards of the professional conduct and integrity of actuaries providing actuarial services in Namibia; and
  • To provide a platform through which the interest of the actuarial profession can be represented locally and more actively foster relations with other actuarial organisations.


On the 26th of May 2012 SAN was admitted as an associate member of the International Actuarial Association (the IAA).  By being an associate member if the IAA, SAN will be recognised as aligning itself to the principles and objectives of the international actuarial community.


The Society was officially launched on the 20th of June 2012 and we were privileged to receive the endorsement of the Minister of Finance, the honourable Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila.  Mr. Peter Temple, the then President Elect of the Actuarial Society of South Africa (ASSA) was also present to convey  ASSA’s continued support to SAN.

Founding Members of the SAN Executive Committee (from left to right): Adrianus Vugs, Melissa Ramsammy-Agapitus and Gert Grobler.  Front (from left to right): Carmen Forster, the Minister of Finance Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila and Peter Temple, president-elect of the Actuarial Society of South Africa